Officially: República Oriental del Uruguay.
Seat of government: Montevideo.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The president is elected directly. The legislature (Asamblea General) comprises the Cámara de Representantes and the Cámara de Senadores, both elected by proportional representation.
Governing party: Encuentro ProgresistaFrente Amplio (Nueva Mayoría).
Head of government: Tabaré Vázquez, EPFA, president.
Opposition parties: Partido Colorado; Partido Nacional (Blanco)
Recent history: The 2004 parliamentary and presidential victories of the EPFA ended the two-party domination of the Colorados and Blancos; the presidential victor was Vázquez, winning in the first round. José Mujica was elected to succeed Vázquez in a 2009 runoff. Vázquez was reelected to the position in a 2014 runoff over Luis Lacalle Pou of the Blancos.
FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 8.17 (18), full democracy.
Updated: 2015 April 25.