Seat of government: New York.
Status: Not democratic.
Head of government: António Guterres, secretary general (since 2017).
Assessment: Very limited zone of joint control. Some of its agencies are relatively liberal, despite the constitution of its General Assembly and Security Council, both of whose states are more frequently inclined towards dominion. Effectively governed by the permanent members of the Security Council ― the United States, Россия « Rossija », 中國 « Çuŋ5 Kuo35 », Britain, and France. Previous secretary general 반기문 « Pan Ki Mun » served two terms (2007-16).
Updated: 2017 January 21.