Officially: Konungariket Sverige.
English: Sweden.
Seat of government: Stockholm.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: Parliament (Riksdag) is elected in geographical constituencies, modified by party-list proportional representation, and chooses the government.
Governing parties: Sveriges Socialdemokratiska Arbetareparti; Miljöpartiet de Gröna.
Head of government: Stefan Löfven, SAP, prime minister.
Other parliamentary parties: Alliansen (originally “Allians för Sverige”, comprising Moderata Samlingspartiet, Centerpartiet, Folkpartiet Liberalerna, and Kristdemokraterna), Sverigedemokraterna, Vänsterpartiet.
Assessment: Historically liberal state. The long rule of socialists (1936-76, 1982-91, 1994-2006) has produced a strong social consensus for a welfare state, which the recent right-of-center government (2006-14) under Fredrik Reinfeldt of the MSP therefore changed only slightly. In 2014, the socialists won a plurality and formed a minority government with Miljöpartiet, but the parliment rejected the government’s budget, and new elections were called, but this was averted by a later deal among the government and Alliansen parties not to vote down a budget for eight years.
FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 9.73 (2), full democracy.
Updated: 2015 April 25.