Also: Sarnam, Suriname.
Officially: Republiek Suriname.
Seat of government: Paramaribo.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (De Nationale Assemblée) is elected by proportional representation in the districts, and chooses the president.
Governing parties: Vooruitstrevende Hervormingspartij; Algemene Bevrijdings- en Ontwikkelingspartij; Nationale Partij Suriname; Pertjajah Luhur.
Head of government: Chan Santokhi, VHP, president.
Chief opposition party: Nationaal Democratische Partij.
Assessment: While democratic, the state is threatened with a return to illiberal government by the presence of Dési Bouterse, former dictator and putschist (ruler 1980-1991, president 2010-20). Bouterse was finally tried for human rights abuses, specifically the “December Murders” of 1982, two of which he may have carried out personally. The trial began in 2007 and ended in 2012 after an amnesty was passed. A 2010 parliamentary election gave a plurality to Bouterse’s new coalition (centered on his NDP), and he was able to form a larger coalition (De Mega Combinatie) to have himself elected president. The NDP won a narrow absolute majority of seats in 2015. In 2020, the VHP was able to form a coalition to oust Bouterse, whose party lost a significant number of seats.
FH: 2-2, free. Econ: 6.58 (59), flawed democracy.
Updated: 2021 June 18.