Officially: Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis.
Seat of government: Basseterre.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (National Assembly) comprises representatives elected in geographical constituencies, who choose the prime minister, and a smaller number of senators, chosen by the government and the parliamentary oppositon.
Governing party: Team Unity (People’s Action Movement, Concerned Citizen’s Movement, People’s Labour Party).
Head of government: Timothy Harris, PLP, prime minister.
Opposition parliamentary parties: St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party, Nevis Reformation Party.
Assessment: St. Kitts and Nevis may separate, but will apparently do so democratically and peacefully. Labour won a dominant popular majority in 1993, but was passed over in favor of Kennedy Simmonds (1980-95) of PAM, who had been in office since before independence (1983). Protests over that PAM minority government led to early elections in 1995, which Labour won; Denzil Douglas (1995-2015) became prime minister. In a 2015 election, Labour won a plurality of the popular vote, but PAM won more seats, and formed a government under Harris, whose PLP split from Labour and won a single seat.
FH: 1-1, free.
Updated: 2015 April 25.