Officially: Российская Федерация Rossiĭskaja Federacija .
English: Russia.
Seat of government: Москва Moskva .
Status: Not democratic.
Structure: An autocracy controlled by the current president.
Head of government: Владимир Путин Vladimir Putin , president; assisted by Дмитрий Медведев Dmitriĭ Medvedev , prime minister.
Governing party: Единая Россия Edinaja Rossija ; unofficially, the силовики siloviki .
Other parliamentary parties: Коммунистическая Партия Российской Федерации Kommunisitičeskaja Partija Rossiĭskoĭ Federacii , led by Геннадий Зюганов Gennadiĭ Zjuganov ; Либерально-Демократическая Партия Liberalĵno-Demokratičeskaja Partija , led by Владимир Жириновский Vladimir irinovskiĭ ; Справедливая Россия: Родина/Пенсионеры/Жизнь Spravedlivaja Rossija: Rodina/Pensionery/iznĵ , a Путин Putin ist front group.
Non-parliamentary opposition: Яблоко Jabloko , led by Сергей Митрохин Sergeĭ Mitroxin ; Другая Россия Drugaja Rossija , led by Гарри Каспаров Garri Kasparov ; Партия Прогресса Partija Progressa , led by Алексей Навальный Alekseĭ Navalĵnyĭ .
Assessment: Never liberal and only briefly democratic. The will of the majority may sometimes prevail, but electoral democracy is no longer practiced faithfully. Путин Putin was prime minister in an elected government when president Борис Ельцин Boris Elĵcin (1991-9) resigned, and became president constitutionally. As prime minister, he had helped oversee a war to reconquer Noxiy, partially based on dubious evidence of a terrorist attack in Москва Moskva . This act helped him achieve a lopsided popular win in a 2000 presidential election. Since then, he has acted autocratically and concentrated power to himself personally, regardless of which office he has held; this includes consolidating control over regional government and the media, and persecuting opposition supporters, among them the олигархи oligarxi , whose wealth has corrupt origins but who were tolerated until they began using their wealth in opposition. He has also shown imperialist tendencies, especially towards Noxiy and Україна Ukrajna , but these seem to have majoritarian backing. Every party in the current and previous parliaments is grossly illiberal, three of them Путин Putin ist; another front party, Правое Дело Pravoe Delo , has been created from some of the former opposition. After serving two full terms as president (2000-8), Путин Putin was constitutionally ineligible to run again; he was officially a candidate for parliament in 2008, and continued to rule as premier after installing then-premier Дмитрий Медведев Dmitriĭ Medvedev as president. Later that year, Россия Rossija invaded საქართველო Sak‛art‛velo and took on overt protection of Хуссар Ирыстон Xussar Iryston and Аҧсны Ap‛sny , after clashes in Хуссар Ирыстон Xussar Iryston . A 2011 parliamentary election saw Единая Россия Edinaja Rossija reduced to a bare majority, even with significant ballot fraud, as Путин Putin prepared to resume the presidency in 2012. In 2014, after the ouster of a pro-Россия Rossija government in Україна Ukrajna , Россия Rossija took control of and formally annexed Крым Krym , and intervened to secure the independence (or possible Российский Rossiĭskiĭ control) of much of the Донбасс Donbass . A 2016 parliamentary election officially produced no significant change in party composition.
FH: 6-5, not free; 7-7, not free (for occupied Noxiy). Econ: 4.48 (107), hybrid.
Updated: 2016 October 7.

Officially: Республик Хуссар Ирыстон Respublik Xussar Iryston ; Республика Южная Осетия Respublika Junaja Osetija .
English: South Ossetia.
Seat of government: Чъреба Čǝreba .
Status: Not democratic.
Structure: Likely under the control of Россия Rossija ; constitutionally controlled by a directly-elected president and an elected legislature.
Heads of government: Тыбылты Леонид Tybylty Leonid , president, and probably Владимир Путин Vladimir Putin , president of Россия Rossija .
Parliamentary parties: Иугонд Ирыстон Iugond Iryston ; Адмы Иудзинад Admy Iudzinad ; Адмон Парти Admon Parti ; Ныхас Nyxas .
Assessment: Most of the territory of the former Хуссар Ирыстоны Автономон Бӕстӕ Xussar Irystony Avtonomon Bst seceded from საქართველო Sak‛art‛velo in 1991, but without recognition. Official results of a 1992 referendum for independence showed 90% in favor; the results were rejected internationally largely because the international community rejects any separatism. Following exchanges with საქართველო Sak‛art‛velo and an attempt by საქართველო Sak‛art‛velo to reclaim the territory, Россия Rossija invaded in 2008 and is now occupying the territory; its security services were reported to be in effective control even before the war. Official results of a 2009 election returned a large majority, and apparently every parliamentary seat, behind longtime ruler Кокойты Эдуард Kokoĭty duard (2001-11). In 2011, an election for a new president, apparently won by opposition figure Джиоты Алл Dioty All over Россия Rossija s preferred candidate Бибылты Анатоли Bibylty Anatoli , was annulled; following protests, Кокойты Kokoĭty resigned, replaced by prime minister Вадим Бровцев Vadim Brovcev , and a new election was scheduled for 2012 with Джиоты Dioty excluded. Тыбылты Tybylty was the official winner in a runoff. In 2014 parliamentary elections, Иугонд Ирыстон Iugond Iryston , led by Бибылты Bibylty , officially won a majority of seats. A 2015 agreement to integrate security and customs forces with Россия Rossija would probably mean the effective end of independence.
FH: 7-6, not free.
Updated: 2015 March 18.