Also: Noreg.
Officially: Kongeriket Norge; Kongeriket Noreg.
English: Norway
Seat of government: Oslo.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (Stortinget) is elected in multi-member geographical constituencies modified by party-list proportional representation, and chooses the prime minister (statsminister).
Governing parties: Høyre; Venstre; Kristelig Folkeparti.
Head of government: Erna Solberg, Høyre, prime minister (since 2013).
Other parliamentary parties: Arbeiderpartiet; Fremskrittspartiet; Senterpartiet; Sosialistisk Venstreparti; Miljøpartiet De Grønne; Rødt.
Recent history: The previous “rødgrønne” (left-center) coalition of AP, SV, and SP was elected in 2005 and reelected in 2009, with Jens Stoltenberg (2000-1, 2005-13) as prime minister. The AP won a plurality in 2013, but Høyre formed a minority governing coalition with Fremskrittspartiet, supported from outside by KrF and SV. After the 2017 election, the major parties mostly lost seats, and the KrF withdrew its support from the government. It later returned; in 2020, the FrP withdrew.
FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 9.93 (1), full democracy.
Updated: 2021 June 19.