Officially: Republika Crna Gora.
English: Montenegro.
Seat of government: Podgorica.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: Government is led by a prime minister, chosen by a parliament elected through proportional representation.
Governing parties: Evropska Crna Gora (chiefly Demokratska Partija Socijalista; also Socijaldemokratska Partija, Liberalna Partija); Bošnjačka Stranka.
Heads of government: Milo Đukanović, DPS, prime minister; Filip Vujanović, DPS, president.
Other parliamentary parties: Demokratski Front; Socijalistička Narodna Partija; Pozitivna Crna Gora; Za Jedinstvo; Koalicioni Shqiptar; Hrvatska Građanska Inicijativa.
Recent history: Longtime head of government Đukanović (1991-2002, 2003-6, 2008-10, 2012-) has dominated politics in the democratic period, but also pursued pro-Western policies, and independence from Србија « Srbija ». After a 2006 referendum, in which 55.5% supported independence, the union with Србија « Srbija » was dissolved. Shortly after independence, the government was reelected; Đukanović then announced his resignation. His replacement Željko Šturanović resigned in 2008, leading to the reinstatement of Đukanović. The coalition secured a large majority in a general election in 2009. It was reelected with a near majority in 2012.
FH: 3-3, partly free (democratic). Econ: 6.43 (65), flawed democracy.
Updated: 2014 November 12.