Also: Maurice.
Officially: Republic of Mauritius.
English: Mauritius.
Seat of government: Porlwi.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: Parliament is elected in multi-member geographical constituencies, and chooses the prime minister.
Governing party: Lalyans Lepep (Muvman Sosyalis Morisyen; Parti Mauricien Social-Démocrate; Muvman Liberater).
Heads of government: परावीन्द जुग्नौथ « Prāvīnd Jugnåt‛ », MSM, prime minister; Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, president.
Chief opposition parties: Parti Travayis, led by नवीन चन्‍द्र रामगुलाम « Navīn Candra Rāmgulām »; Muvman Militan Morisyen, led by Paul Bérenger.
Assessment: A relatively-mature democracy. Long-serving MSM (originally, MMM) prime minister अनिरुद्घ जगन्नाथ « Anirudd‛ Jagannāt‛ » (1982-95, 2000-3, 2014-7; president 2003-12), became president in 2003 under the 2000 MSM-MMM coalition agreement that made Bérenger of the MMM his successor as prime minister. The PT had been in power with the MMM from 1995 to 2000, with रामगुलाम « Rāmgulām » (1995-2000, 2005-4) as prime minister. In 2002, two presidents in three days resigned rather than approving an anti-terrorism law that, in their opinion, eroded the rights of suspects. A 2010 general election saw a reshuffled PT-led alliance, Lalyans pu Lavenir (PT, MSM, PMSD), return to power; the MSM left in 2011, replaced by MMM. In 2014, a PT-MMM alliance proposed creating a presidential system of government, and was defeated in an election by Lalyans Lepep (MSM, PMSD, ML), opposing the change. जगन्नाथ « Jagannāt‛ » again became prime minister; he resigned in 2017, replaced by his son.
FH: 1-2, free. Econ: 8.04 (26), full democracy.
Updated: 2017 March 24.