— Officially: Repubblika Ta’Malta; Republic of Malta.
— Seat of government: Valletta.
— Status: Democratic.
— Structure: The parliament (Kamra tad-Deputati) is elected in multi-member geographical constituencies with limited modification for proportionality, and chooses the prime minister, who heads the government, as well as the president.
— Governing party: Partit Laburista.
— Head of government: Robert Abela, prime minister (since 2020).
— Other parliamentary parties: Partit Nazzjonalista, led by Adrian Delia; Alternattiva Demokratika – Partit Demokratiku.
— Recent history: The PN won elections in 1998, 2003, and 2008. The 2008 election, with 93% turnout, yielded a plurality of one half percent for the PN, and a one-seat advantage in parliament; Lawrence Gonzi (2004-13) continued as prime minister. The PL scored a decisive win in 2013 elections, and Joseph Muscat (2013-20) became prime minister; the PL won a continued majority in 2017. Muscat resigned in 2020 after protests over the assassination of a journalist.
— FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 8.39 (16), full democracy.
— Updated: 2021 June 22.