Also: Luxembourg, Luxemburg.
Officially: Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg; Grand-Duché de Luxembourg; Großherzogtum Luxemburg.
Seat of government: Lëtzebuerg.
Status: Democratic.
Governing parties: Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei, Demokratesch Partei, Déi Gréng.
Head of government: Xavier Bettel, DP, prime minister.
Opposition parties: Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei; Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei; Déi Lénk.
Assessment: Opposition by the Groussherzog, Henri, to a specific bill on euthanasia in 2008 led to further weakening of his constitutional position, at the hands of a government led by a party (the CSV) also opposed to the bill. The previous conservative government was reelected with nearly two-thirds of seats in 2009. In 2013 elections, the CSV remained the largest single party, but its plurality was not enough to secure a governing coalition. Long-serving CSV prime minister Jean-Claude Juncker (1995-2013) was chosen in 2014 to head the European Commission.
FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 9.10 (9), full democracy.
Updated: 2014 October 19.