Seats of government: Kibua; Kalonge
Status: Not democratic.
Governing party: Forces Démocratiques de Libération du Rwanda.
Structure: Political militia.
Heads of government: Ignace Murwanashyaka, political leader; Sylvestre Mudacumura, military leader.
Assessment: A Hutu-based descendent of the forces responsible for the 1994 genocide in Rwanda, both the Rwandan army and Interahamwe (paramilitary); its military wing is the Forces Combattantes Abacunguzi. Originally known as the Armée pour la Libération du Rwanda. In conflict with Kinsásá as well as Tutsi-based forces aligned with the Rwandan government.
Updated: 2015 February 26.