— Officially: State of Grenada.
— Seat of government: St. George’s.
— Status: Democratic.
— Structure: The parliament comprises the House of Representatives, elected in geographical constituencies, which chooses the prime minister, and the Senate, chosen by the governing and opposition factions in the House of Representatives.
— Governing party: New National Party.
— Head of government: Keith Mitchell, prime minister (1995-2008, and since 2013).
— Chief opposition party: National Democratic Congress, led by Nazim Burke.
— Recent history: The NNP and NDC have alternated in power since independence in 1984. In the 1999 elections, the NNP took every seat. It was reelected in 2003, but with only a one-seat majority. In the 2008 elections, the NDC took a commanding 11-4 majority in parliament, and Tillman Thomas (2008-13) became prime minister. In 2013, the NNP again won every seat.
— FH: 1-2, free.
— Updated: 2014 October 24.