Also: Finland.
Officially: Suomen Tasavalta; Republiken Finland.
Seat of government: Helsinki / Helsingfors.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (eduskunta) is elected in multi-member geographical constituencies with a degree of proportional representation, and chooses the prime minister. The president is elected directly.
Governing parties: Suomen Keskusta; Perussuomalaiset; Kansallinen Kokoomuspuolue.
Head of government: Juha Sipilä, Kesk, prime minister.
Other parliamentary parties: Suomen Sosialidemokraattinen Puolue; Vihreä Liitto; Vasemmistoliitto; Svenska Folkpartiet; Kristillisdemokraatit.
Assessment: The previous president, Tarja Halonen of the SSP (2000-12), was made even more of a figurehead and subsequently worked to reclaim influence; in 2006 she narrowly won reelection against Sauli Niinistö of the KKP. Niinistö was chosen to replace her in 2012, in a runoff with Pekka Haavisto of the VL. In parliamentary elections in 2007, Kesk edged out the KKP for first place; the KKP was brought into the government, with SSP departing. In 2010, long-serving Kesk premier Matti Vanhanen (2003-10) resigned, replaced by Mari Kiviniemi of Kesk. A 2011 election saw the KKP win a plurality, and Jyrki Katainen became prime minister. Katainen stepped down in 2014, succeeded by Alexander Stubb of KKP. Kesk won a plurality in 2015, with KKP, PS, and SSP roughly tied for second; Sipilä became prime minister.
FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 9.06 (9), full democracy.
Updated: 2015 June 19.