Also: Dominica.
Officially: Commonwealth of Dominica.
Seat of government: Wozo / Roseau.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (House of Assembly) comprises representatives elected in geographical constituencies, who choose the prime minister, and a smaller number of senators also chosen by the representatives.
Governing party: Dominica Labour Party.
Head of government: Roosevelt Skerrit, prime minister.
Chief opposition party: United Workers’ Party.
Assessment: Generally and historically a reliable liberal democracy, though it has recently aligned itself with Hugo Chávez economically, and to some extent politically. Labour has been in office since 2000; Skerritt became prime minister in 2004. In 2014, Labour was reelected for a fourth straight term, with a slightly-reduced majority.
FH: 1-1, free.
Updated: 2014 December 9.