Officially: Kongeriget Danmark.
English: Denmark.
Seat of government: København.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (Folketinget) is elected by party-list proportional representation, and chooses the prime minister (statsminister).
Governing parties: Socialdemokraterne; Socialistisk Folkeparti; Det Radikale Venstre; Enhedslisten – De Rød-Grønne; Inuit Ataqatigiit; Javnaðarflokkurin; Siumut.
Head of government: Mette Frederiksen, SD, statsminister (since 2019).
Other parliamentary parties: Venstre; Dansk Folkeparti; Konservative Folkeparti; Nye Borgerlige; Liberal Alliance; Frie Grønne; Alternativet; Kristendemokraterne; Sambandsflokkurin.
Recent history: The previous center-right coalition won three straight elections (2001, 2003, 2007), though in later years it needed greater outside support for an absolute majority. It ultimately depended heavily on the far-right DF of Pia Kjærsgaard. Long-serving Venstre premier Anders Fogh Rasmussen (2001-9) was selected as the secretary-general of NATO, and resigned in favor of his deputy Lars Løkke Rasmussen (2009-11, 2015-9). After a 2011 parliamentary election, the SD formed a center-left coalition and Helle Thorning-Schmidt (2011-5) became prime minister. In 2015, the SD won an increased plurality but the center-right bloc finished ahead of the center-left, with the DF surging to second overall. As is typical in European politics, the DF was bypassed, leaving Venstre to attempt a coalition; eventually it formed a minority government instead. In a 2019 general election, the DF collapsed and the left parties generally improved, and the SD formed a new coalition.
FH: 1-1, free. Econ: 9.52 (4), full democracy.
Updated: 2021 June 19.