Officially: Republika Hrvatska.
English: Croatia.
Seat of government: Zagreb.
Status: Democratic.
Structure: The parliament (Sabor) is elected by multiple-member geographical constituencies, and chooses the predsjednik vlade (premijer).
Governing parties: Hrvatska Demokratska Zajednica; Самостална Демократска Српска Странка « Samostalna Demokratska Srpska Stranka ».
Head of government: Andrej Plenković, HDZ, predsjednik vlade (since 2016).
Chief opposition party: Socijaldemokratska Partija Hrvatske.
Other major parliamentary parties: Domovinski Pokret; Most Nezavisnih Lista; Možemo!.
Assessment: The complete defeat, in the 2000 election, of the HDZ after the death of its leader Franjo Tuđman in 1999 was a tremendous step forward. Tuđman (president, 1990-9) was the stealth Милошевић « Milošević »; there was no likelihood of liberal government in Hrvatska with him in place. But the HDZ won power again in 2003 under Ivo Sanader (2003-9), and was reelected in 2007. Sanader resigned in 2009, replaced by Jadranka Kosor (2009-11). In 2011 elections, a coalition led by SDP won a plurality of votes and slight majority of seats, and Zoran Milanović (2011-6) became prime minister. The election of 2015 led to an HDZ-Most coalition under the non-partisan Tihomir Orešković (2016). A 2016 election saw HDZ again finish with a plurality, and its Plenković took the premiership. The HDZ picked up seats in 2020 and continued in government.
FH: 2-2, free. Econ: 7.04 (51), flawed democracy.
Updated: 2021 June 24.