English: Federation of Bosnia-Herzegovina.
Seat of government: Sarajevo.
Status: Not democratic.
Structure: Government is led by a prime minister chosen by an elected House of Representatives (Predstavnički Dom / Zastupnički Dom), but overseen by an unelected high representative chosen by foreign states.
Heads of government: Fadil Novalić, SDA, prime minister (since 2015); Marinko Čavara, HDZ, president (since 2015); Christian Schmidt, international high representative (since 2021).
Parliamentary parties: Stranka Demokratske Akcije; Hrvatska Demokratska Zajednica; Socijaldemokratska Partija Bosne i Hercegovine; Demokratska FrontaGrađanski Savez; Savez za Bolju Budućnost BiH; Naša Stranka; Pokret Demokratske Akcije; Narodni Evropski Savez; Hrvatska Demokratska Zajednica 1990; Laburistička Stranka Bosne i Hercegovine.
Assessment: In the war of secession from Jugoslavija, Bošnjaci and Hrvati were sometimes allies against the Срби « Srbi », and sometimes rivals. The Federacija was largely imposed by foreign states; as a compromise, the territory is itself divided into ten cantons with significant powers, meant in part to empower the sectarian communities. Partially autocratic as a UN protectorate; even Christian Schwarz-Schilling (2006-7), perhaps the least assertive high representative, overrode a parliamentary change of government, to be led by Nedžad Branković; but Branković did eventually replace Ahmet Hadžipašić. Sectarian nationalist parties have come to dominate elections.
FH: 4-3, partly free (democratic). Econ: 5.70 (86), hybrid. (For Bosna as a whole.)
Updated: 2021 November 28.