— Officially: Република Српска « Republika Srpska ».
— English: Serb Bosnia.
— Seat of government: Бања Лука « Bańa Luka ».
— Status: Not democratic.
— Structure: Government is led by a popularly-elected president, and a prime minister chosen by the elected National Assembly, but also supervised by an international high representative, chosen by a consortium of foreign states.
— Heads of government: Милорад Додик « Milorad Dodik », СНСД « SNSD », president; Жељка Цвијановић « Žeĺka Cvijanović », СНСД « SNSD », prime minister; Valentin Inzko, high representative.
— Parliamentary parties: Савез Независних Социјалдемократа « Savez Nezavisnix Socijaldemokrata »; Српска Демократска Странка « Srpska Demokratska Stranka »Партија Уједињених Пензионера « Partija Ujedińenix Penzionera »Српска Радикална Странка « Srpska Radikalna Stranka »; Демократски Народни Савез « Demokratski Narodni Savez »; Партија Демократског Прогреса « Partija Demokratskog Progresa »; Domovina; Народни Демократски Покрет « Narodni Demokratski Pokret »; Социјалистичка Партија « Socijalistička Partija ».
— Assessment: Partially controlled by ultranationalist majoritarian rule, and partially by imposition of multiethnicity by external states. The high representative has broad powers to intervene in government; he is the seventh to hold the post. Prime minister Драган Микеревић « Dragan Mikerević » (2003-5) resigned in a dispute with previous international representative Paddy Ashdown (2002-6). Додик « Dodik » served as prime minister from 1998 to 2001, and has dominated politics since 2006 as prime minister (2006-10) and president (since 2010); he was originally supported by the West as a moderate, but in office has continued the policies of nationalism.
— FH: 4-3, partly free (democratic). Econ: 5.70 (86), hybrid. (For Bosna as a whole.)
— Updated: 2014 November 12.