— Also: Belice.
— Officially: Belize.
— Seat of government: Belmopan.
— Status: Democratic.
— Structure: The parliament (National Assembly) comprises the House of Representatives, elected by plurality in geographical constituencies, which chooses the prime minister, and the Senate, chosen by the parliamentary governing and opposition factions.
— Governing party: United Democratic Party.
— Head of government: Dean Barrow, prime minister (since 2008).
— Chief opposition party: People’s United Party, led by Francis Fonseca.
— Assessment: A stable parliamentary system. In 2008, the UDP won a large parliamentary majority, and Barrow replaced Said Wilbert Musa of the PUP. The UDP was reelected with a slight majority in 2012. That majority slightly increased in an election in late 2015.
— Notes: The territory of Bileez is claimed by Guatemala, though the independent state of Guatemala has never controlled it, and culturally the two are significantly different.
— FH: 1-2, free.
— Updated: 2016 March 29.